The Warr Acres Police Department and other agencies in the state have joined forces with the Oklahoma Highway Safety Office to reduce crash fatalities during the holiday seasons. This includes alcohol, prescription drugs, THC and any other medication which can impair your ability to drive safely. The 2019 holiday enforcement campaign runs through January 1, 2020. If you feel different you drive different. Get high, get a DUI. The holiday season is one of the deadliest times of the year in terms of impaired-driving fatalities. With NHTSA’s support, the Warr Acres Police Department, other agencies in Oklahoma and agencies across the nation are stepping-up enforcement to put an end to drug-impaired driving, showing zero tolerance to save lives.
- In 2017, 45% of the drivers killed in fatal crashes who were tested for drugs, tested positive. Keep this important rule in mind: If You Feel Different, You Drive Different. Drive High, Get a DUI.
- NHTSA’s 2013/14 National Roadside Survey of Alcohol and Drug Use by Drivers found that nearly one in four weekend nighttime drivers tested positive for at least one drug that could impair their ability to drive safely.
- It doesn’t matter what term you use: If a person is feeling a little high, buzzed, stoned, wasted, or drunk, he or she is impaired and should never get behind the wheel.
- If you think driving while high won’t affect you, you are wrong: It has been proven that Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) — the chemical responsible for most of marijuana’s psychoactive effects — slows reaction times, impairs cognitive performance, and makes it more difficult for drivers to keep a steady position in their lane. This is a deadly combination.
- Something as simple as cold medication or an over-the-counter sleep aid could impair your driving. If it does, you will be arrested for a DUI. If you are taking a new prescription drug or a higher dose of a current prescription drug, do not drive until you know what effect it has on your judgement, coordination, and reaction time. Any effect could impair your driving ability.
- Certain medications may not impair you on their own, but if taken with a second medication or with alcohol, they may cause impairment. Any form of impaired driving is illegal.
- It is illegal to drive impaired in all 50 states and the District of Columbia — no exceptions.
- On average, a DUI could set you back $10,000 in attorney’s fees, fines, court costs, lost time at work, higher insurance rates, car towing, and more.
- The financial impact from impaired-driving crashes is devastating. Based on 2010 numbers (the most recent year for which cost data is available), impaired-driving crashes cost the United States $44 billion annually.
- If you’re caught driving under the influence of any impairing substance, you can face jail time. Imagine trying to explain that to your friends and family or your place of employment.
- Drug-impaired driving could cause you to lose your driver’s license and your vehicle. This could inhibit you from getting to work, resulting in lost wages and, potentially, job loss.
Celebrate with a Plan
Always remember to plan ahead if you will be celebrating. If you plan to indulge in an impairing substance, plan for a sober driver to take you home. Is it your turn to be the designated driver? Take that role seriously and do not partake in alcohol or any other drugs.
- If you have ingested an impairing substance, such as marijuana, alcohol, prescription drugs, sleep medication, or any form of illegal drug, do not drive. Passengers should never ride with an impaired driver. If you think a driver may be impaired, do not get in the car.
- If you are drug-impaired, pass the keys to a sober driver who can safely drive you to your final destination. Like drunk driving, it is essential that drug-impaired drivers refrain from driving a vehicle. It is never okay to drive while impaired by any substance.
- Have a friend who is about to drive while impaired by drugs? Take the keys away and arrange to get them home safely. Don’t worry about offending someone—they’ll thank you later.
- If available, use your community’s sober ride program .
- If you see an impaired driver on the road, call 911 and report the driver and vehicle information to local law enforcement.